The maximum penalty for a retail theft or shoplifting accusation depends on the value of the item taken.
- If the value of the item taken was less than $100, then the offense will be charged as petit theft in the second degree, punishable by up to sixty (60) days in the county jail and a $500 fine plus court costs.
- If the value of the item taken was more than $300, then the offense can be charged as Felony Retail Theft, a third-degree felony punishable by up to five (5) years in prison and a $ 5000 fine, plus court costs.
- If the individual has ever been convicted of any two other theft offenses, then the person can be charged with Felony Petit Theft regardless of the value of the property, which is a third-degree felony punishable by five (5) years in Florida State Prison, and a five thousand ($5,000.00) fine, plus court costs.
- If the value of the item taken is more than $300, then the offense will be charged as a petit theft in the first degree which is punishable by up to 12 months (364 days) in the county jail and a $1,000.00 fine.
Contact me or go to The Law Office of Kurt Teifke to discuss defenses that may be available under Florida law for the particular facts and circumstances of your case so you will know what you need to do as you fight for the best result.